Une visite de quelques rivières d’Alsace et de Franche-Comté

Amy here: Ah….so much is happening, and we have little time to blog.  It would take me hours to write about everything we have done, so here’s a short post about the rivers that we have seen.  Yesterday, our wonderful chauffeur, Francis Geere, drove us to Ornans to meet Jacques Moril for the Vesoul portion of our trip.  Along the way, we stopped at the Source du Lison.  The river flows right out of the side of the mountain.  Francis said that when it rains a lot, little waterfalls spout from all over the face of the hillside.  That’s Covy with us.  She’s Francis’ petite amie, and she works in the UN Office of Migration in Geneva.

I had the wonderful privilege of fly fishing in La Loue on Wednesday evening.  My host, Patrick Macchioni, found out that I like to fish, so on the evening of my arrival, he took me to La Loue to fish.  I borrowed his equipment, but we had only a short time to fish, since he and his lovely wife, Nicole, were hosting dinner for the Team and our hosts.  From my understanding of fishing, you pay a lot of money to belong to a fishing club, and then you gain access to stretches of river, and there are certain seasons in which you can catch certain fish.  Patrick laughed when I told him that I pay $26 to fish all the rivers in Colorado.  He took me to a beautiful stretch of La Loue at Cléron.  Here I am in front of the Château de Cléron, a beautiful castle owned by a grouchy woman. and trying to pêche à la mouche for la truite.There are trout, and grayling, and perch.  I didn’t catch anything, but we got to see some grayling that were spawning.  We also have seen Le Doubs, which flows through Besançon.  Amanda and I strolled along it last Saturday. And then there is the Ils of Alsace.  Voila Samantha and the wonderful Martine Mayer, the president of the Strasbourg Oueste Rotary Club, at a brasserie along the Ils.  Martine was our exceptional tour guide during a day of walking in Strasbourg.  And finally, here we are yesterday at La Loue  in Ornans, birthplace of Gustave Courbet, a famous 19th century painter.  Jacques is with us.Vive les rivières de France!

  1. Sincerely hope you all managed to get a genuine break yesterday after your hectic time ‘chez nous’.
    Have fun.
    Francis and Covy

    • Roger
    • April 11th, 2011

    I’ve been throughly enjoying hearing about your experiences. I don’t know if everyone has the problem, but your pictures are considerably “stretched” vertically, Amy.

      • amylmcbride
      • April 11th, 2011

      I just tried looking at the blog in Internet Explorer, and you’re right. I’ve been using Firefox. Maybe if I switch to Explorer, that will take care of the problem. In the meantime, if you click on the picture, it will appear as it should.

    • Julie
    • April 13th, 2011

    When using IE, if you switch to compatibility view it fixes the “stretching” problem. Love the blog!

    • Suzy
    • April 14th, 2011

    Amazing to see you flyfishing in FRANCE! It seems like an amazing trip. And I am very jealous about the cheese….. yum. Wish I were there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment