First professional day

Amanda here: We had our first professional day here in Saverne. I got to sit in on a few court cases at their Tribunal de grande instance. French courts are very different than the one I’m used to. There were three judges and three attorneys on the cases, the attorneys and defendant stand the entire time the case is being discussed and everyone wears robes. They are really quite nice robes, maybe we should start doing that in our courts…

But what shocked me the most was how the defendant’s who are in custody are brought into the courtroom: they are walked right through the courtroom by the police, and when their case is called, they have their handcuffs removed and they stand in front of the judges for the duration of their case. When the case is done, the police officers handcuff the up and walk them out. Crazy! We would never do anything like that at our court because of safety issues. Really makes me appreciate the security we have a my home court.

    • Julie
    • March 31st, 2011

    You would look great in a robe, and it would keep you warm! Looks like you’re already having a great time, thanks for sharing the blog!

    • Bob Tesch
    • March 31st, 2011

    Castles and choolate are great, but how is the trout fishing? I have a suggestion: put the names of your favorite Alsatian wines in your blog and we back home can go in search of them, pour a glass, and pretend we are with you in the land of good sensations.

    • J Vanderleest
    • April 1st, 2011

    What a great time you guys are having. Will I see a little duck shape bowl and cube of sugar near your workstation when you return (remember, you must return). I’m glad you appreciate our security; I’m nervous about your idea of robes!!! I’m guessing you’d love to have one since the courtroom seems to always be cold. I’m sure you are not thinking of us but we are sure thinking of you.

    • Will I be allowed to have my little duck and sugar cube the way it was presented to me in Saverne?

    • Dianne White
    • April 9th, 2011

    I also think that you should let us know which wines you are tasting and which ones are your favorites. And the robes could serve as a uniform of sorts. That would make it easier to get ready for work every day. Try that angle . . . it could work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment